The Same Stretch of Sand

December 14, 2015 at 2:48 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

beach footprints

“We have stories to tell, stories that provide wisdom about the journey of life. What more have we to give one another than our ‘truth’ about our human adventure as honestly and as openly as we know how?” – Rabbi Saul Rubin

I love this time of year. The warmth. The light. The freshness still in the water temperature. And importantly starting most mornings walking the same stretch of sand that I have walked many times before. This practice doesn’t fill me with feelings of tedium or boredom through repetition, rather opening up pathways to gratitude, presence, possibility and connection each and every day. I find this same stretch of sand expansive, ever changing and beautiful.

“If you are facing in the right direction, all you need to do is keep on walking.” – Buddhist Saying

Some mornings I find my feet supported firmly by wet, hard sand. While other mornings that sinking feeling takes over as I wade through the softness beneath me. On days that I fight with or resent the conditions that are underfoot I lose sight of the expansive, ever changing and beautiful nature, reminders and opportunities that are presented to me in each step. When I am open to and playful within the conditions that are to be navigated that day I find those feelings of gratitude, presence, possibility and connection magnified by all my senses.

“Happiness is like a butterfly.
The more you chase it, the more it eludes you.
But if you turn your attention to other things,
It comes and sits softly on your shoulder.”
– Henry David Thoreau

The soft hum of the ocean. The lapping of water around my feet as I walk. The rays of light peering through a clouded sky. The skill and agility of early morning surfers. The patterns created across the sand. The genuine good morning exchange with a passerby. The unbridled bounding of an excited dog chasing a ball. The crisp blue of a clear sky. The interesting shell or stone found along the shores edge. The meditative stance of the morning fisherman. The quick run to evade an unexpected wave. The dark ominous clouds of an approaching storm. These all have the power to bring me back through my senses when my mind races off, judging, worrying, competing or comparing.

“To travel hopefully is a better thing than to arrive, and the true success is to labour.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

I could say similar things, just in different ways, about the writing of these blog posts. I could say similar things, just in different ways, about many areas of my personal and professional life. Wherever we find ourselves on our journey of potential the opportunity to explore the possibilities, discover potential and act authentically is available to us when we are open to and playful within whichever conditions are being navigated. This is where we experience moments filled with gratitude, presence, possibility and connection. This is where, as we are brought back to the now, we are reminded that we have choices in how we engage, grow and contribute through empowered daily thoughts, words and actions.

“The journey is the reward.” – Taoist Saying

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

