Such A Privilege

November 16, 2015 at 6:07 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

shutterstock_126786839

“Find a seed at the bottom of your heart and bring forth a flower.” – Shigenori Kameoka

Recently I have been sending out 2016 rebooking packs to our client schools (If you’re anything like me at the moment you are also pondering how quickly this year seems to have gone by). It’s always such a reflective time of year for me, and also a time of year that gratitude feels like it’s overflowing. In this process of communicating with our clients I have found the word privilege jumping into each email as I wrote. What a privilege it is to be welcomed into and become apart of communities that so highly value a shared journey of exploring the possibilities, discovering potential and acting authentically.

“The teacher is the one who gets the most out of the lessons, and the true teacher is the learner.” – Elbert Hubbard

Today I was welcomed into a new school community. On entering the school I was asked by some parents if they could help carrying the bags I had over my shoulder. I was greeted at the office by a friendly smile and helpful attitude. I was shown around the facilities and offered numerous cups of coffee, tea or water. I watched a school community gather to start the week, sharing rituals, values and beliefs. I was then warmly introduced to the group I would be working with. Then the fun begun. So many moments in a half an hour timeframe that reminded me of what a privilege it is to have a time and space carved out for you to engage, challenge and inspire whichever students I am working with on that day.

“The privilege of a lifetime is to become who you truly are.” – Joseph Campbell

Tomorrow I revisit a client school we’ve supported for the past 3 years. There will be new students to work with. Maybe new teachers in the staff room to chat with. Definitely new activities to try out. But staying the same most importantly are my thoughts, words and actions being grounded in how it’s such a privilege to be able to do what I do.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

