At Our Core

October 13, 2014 at 5:39 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

IMG_0074

“Deep meaning lies often in childish play.” – Johann Friedrich von Schiller

Last week I was over at my parents house looking through a box of photos that has been put aside for me. They form a collection that spans the best part of two decades, providing for a great walk down memory lane. The photo I have included above jumped out at me for many reasons. I love seeing photos that chart the evolution of our childhood backyard. I love reflecting on great stories related to fun and games with siblings and friends over the years. I love looking back on the fashions of growing up in the 80’s. But above all, this photo reminded me of what’s at our core.

Words like Wonder, Curiosity, Play, Adventure, Joy and Gratitude came flooding through as I was looking at this picture, and were also present as I looked at many of the others that were in the box as well. What words come up for you when you consider what is at our core? How can reminding ourselves of what lies at our core positively influence the choices we make, the way we interact and the connection we develop on our journeys of potential? What photo from your collection, whether it be during your childhood or taken more recently, captures a moment, feeling, connection or some deep meaning for you?

“Children have neither past nor future; they enjoy the present, which very few of us do.” – Jean de la Bruyere

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

