Lessons Learnt: In Nature

August 4, 2014 at 4:27 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

image_2

The second half of last week I spent lying down inside. I’m sure you can relate to being hit by one of the ‘bugs’ that have been flying around this winter. So as I looked out the window at the incredible blue skies and wished I was out there soaking up the warmth of the winter sun, I let my mind drift to some of the lessons I have learnt through nature.

“Nature is man’s teacher.
She unfolds her treasure to his search,
unseals his eye, illumes his mind,
and purifies his heart;
an influence breathes from all the sights and sounds
of her existence.”

– Alfred Billings Street

I really value the connection I have had with being outdoors throughout my life and the wonder, curiosity, joy and opportunities it has provided me. Most of my favourite memories as a child involve camping and bushwalking holidays with family and friends, activities like exploring the creek that ran behind where we lived, and the multitude of hours spent playing a vast array of sports (whether organised or with friends in the local area). Being outside and active was definitely, and has remained throughout my life, an important piece of the puzzle for me.

“The whole secret of the study of nature lies in learning how to use one’s eyes…”

– George Sand

So what was the inspiration for the graphic I have used at the start of this post? Walking out to check the mail box last Friday, after a couple of days being mainly inside, I saw a flower that I had seen many times before. But this time it made me think: ‘A petal flourishes and thrives through connection, not comparison and competition’. It was a powerful reminder of a theme that we explore a lot within our L.E.A.D. with Courage™ Program, moving through fears associated with scarcity and win – lose thinking, to be a leader who is fostering authentic abundance and win – win thoughts, words and actions. It is just one example of the reminders nature provides me on a daily basis, if I choose to be open to them, remembering that we are all wired for wonder and connection.

“One should pay attention to even the smallest crawling creature for these too may have a valuable lesson to teach us.”

– Black Elk

So what lessons have you learnt through your interactions with nature throughout your own life? What role does nature play in fostering wonder, curiosity, joy and opportunity within your own journey of potential? How has your relationship with nature evolved over time, is there time for exploration and discovery within a ‘busy’ 21st Century existence?

“Go out, go out I beg of you
And taste the beauty of the wild.
Behold the miracle of the earth
With all the wonder of a child.”

– Edna Jaques

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

