Small Steps

November 8, 2013 at 10:12 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

FootprintsThese last few weeks I have had a series of Moon Landing moments, well in my head I have as Neil Armstrong’s quote reverberated, ‘That’s one small step for a man…’ Visiting the surgeon who operated on my achilles saw me preparing for the next phase of recovery. I had become quite comfortable walking in the boot but in front of me as I pictured leaving the surgeon’s office was the trepidation of that first step unprotected. Now it was time to take those next small steps, trusting that the process was going well and that I was ready for whatever came next.

The waiting room at the surgeon’s office feels like a snapshot of all the stages of the journey, both physically and emotionally. There are those nervously coming in on crutches, not knowing what lays ahead, those who are two weeks post surgery who just can’t wait to start being able to put some weight on the boot and get their stitches out, and those like me who are both anxious and excited for the boot to be coming off (or off at least for short periods of time). The compassionate conversations, understanding looks and sincere well wishes bring a group of total strangers together through the shared journey we are all on.

“My humanity is bound up in yours, for we can only be human together.” – Desmond Tutu

This process has been such a reminder of the power of self care, reaching out and communicating honestly within our shared journey. Through this process we are able to remain open, deepen connection and navigate the challenges that lay before each of us. A supportive network of family and friends, the expertise of so many medical professionals, and the care and compassion of so many thoughtful people along the journey has meant that I am in this position, to confidently keep taking the next small step. One thing that I keep reminding myself of is that each small step has the combined strength of what has come before it. Sometimes we get caught in a moment and see that step in isolation, rather than remembering as A. A. Milne wrote into Winnie the Pooh, ‘Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.’

So whatever opportunities or challenges come your way I hope that you confidently make choices to take those small steps that move you towards your goals, while deepening connection to self, others and the world around us. And when we or others display our humanness or get stuck within one of our small steps I hope that we are able to view this and respond through a compassionate lens. Have a fantastic weekend!

“I never said it would be easy, I only said it would be worth it.” – Mae West

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

