2011 Adventures

November 13, 2011 at 3:48 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

I consider myself fortunate to have had many inspiring work and travel experiences, both in Australia and overseas. I have cherished each opportunity that has allowed me to gain a greater awareness and appreciation of myself, others and the amazing world around us, while meeting incredible people who have shared part of their life story, joys and challenges with me on my adventures. This has reinforced my belief in the potential of human beings and focused my attention on the similarities that we share as humans, what we view as important and our differences being a source of shared opportunity for growth rather than fear and disconnection. The journey of connection that we all travel, wherever we are in the world, can be challenging for many different reasons but provides us with meaning and purpose in our lives. Being open to the possibilities that could exist when we follow our passions can lead us to enriching experiences.

In 2004/05 I lived and worked in East Africa, after having spent time living and working in the UK and America. That year proved to be an amazing experience. Since then I had planned to travel back to Africa, wanting to visit much more of the continent and use my skills in a volunteer position within a school environment. This opportunity arrived this year and I was excited about the possibilities of the 6 months overseas, traveling through Southern Africa, South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malawi and Tanzania before working as a volunteer in the inspirational School of St. Jude in Tanzania. I also visited Uganda for a few weeks in the middle of my work at St. Jude’s, being able to reconnect with a country that I have such fond memories of. Over the coming weeks I will include stories and experiences that I had during this time away in this blog. I look forward to reflecting on a wonderful trip.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thank you for inspiring us not to have more, but to BE more! I look forward to reading about your adventures as you continue to promote awareness around this area.
    Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

